Lula in the rain last May

For me, there’s just something about commuter trains. There’s little doubt about my allegiance to the LIRR but I often think to myself that if Canada had a Long Island Railroad it would look a lot like Montreal’s Agence métropolitaine de transport (AMT) and it’s collection of rolling stock and borrowed tracks.

Most of AMT’s trains terminate at Lucien-L’Allier Station. Given that all of AMT’s trains operate as push-pull trains terminal stations like Lucien-L’Allier can really just be sets of stub-ended sidings. I’ve been thinking about how neat a model you could make of Lucien-L’Allier station in the spirit of many Minories or Inglenook layout designs.

Last May I had a chance to be in Montreal for the weekend. Man did it ever rain, it was a lousy day to be a tourist in the city but I did venture out to get some pictures that day and thought I’d share them here.

Man it rained. For modelling the station is really simple. I reason that you could model only the tracks and just the actual station, the glassed-in area at one end as a low-relief backdrop building. Athearn have produced models of AMT’s F59 diesels and Bombardier-built coaches. I reason you could actually represent it nicely on a shelf layout about 1×6′ in size plus fiddle/staging sidings.

Cheers
/c

Leave a Reply

