Box car observation

I just finished a quick post on some new photographs I found online.

Take a look at these two as examples of what I’ve been noticing:
www.images.technomuses.ca/searchpf.php?id=229295&lang=en
http://www.images.technomuses.ca/searchpf.php?id=229295&lang=en

I’ve always thought that these cars had rounded roofs but it appears that they may have actually been more of a three-part gable. Given that the cars were home-built it makes sense. There aren’t many, if any, examples of elaborate construction anywhere on the railway and I find that to be a large part of the charm of the railway. I think it would be much simpler to frame a squared version of the roof instead of a rounded one. I’m going to start looking through the pictures I have of the box cars to see what I find.

Leave a Reply

