Halton County Radial Railway

I’ve been to Kennebunkport to the Seashore Trolley Museum and I’ve made a really great effort to stop and see as many streetcars and light rail vehicles as I can when I travel – the latest being a chance to ride the whole of Edmonton’s LRT last fall (great system by the way). I also really enjoy Bob Newhart’s brand of humour and it was an old skit of his that I’m really trying to paraphrase here in this first paragraph of this post. Bob eventually tied together his stories with the line: “Now I’ve told you that so I can tell you this.” That has got to be one of my all-time favourite comedy lines and, in my opinion, is equaled only by Steve Martin’s: “It’s great to be here. It’s great to be over here.”

So in the words of a master: “Now I’ve told you that so I could tell you this.”

I have been trying to get to visit the Halton County Radial Railway and I just can’t seem to make it happen. I have seen video footage shot along their line and the cars look fantastic. The museum’s right of way is actually built on former Toronto Suburban Railway and most of their fleet is Canadian. I think it would be great to have a chance to volunteer at the railway some summer for a couple of days.

I missed out on Peter Witt streetcars in Toronto when they were in service there and I’d really like to see one in a similar setting here at the museum as in this picture from Wikipedia:

Leave a Reply

