Hazelbrook on June 27, 2011

Driving still further east a little bit brings us to Hazelbrook. The railway grade across both sides of the Trans Canada Highway is still quite visible and most of it is marked to imply that it is still something of a public right of way for hiking and snowmobiling today. I’m not sure of that but hope that it is as I’d like to hike it this fall when the vegetation has retreated a little.

Hazelbrook was still listed in my 1974 sidings list and shows up as H057TT “Public Siding”. My 1958 notes show the siding as having a 9 car capacity. Allan Graham’s book includes some excellent photographs of the passenger train backing into Hazelbrook that I’d love to have prints of to display in my house.

Leave a Reply

