TTC Otter Loop Station – Plan View

A couple of weeks ago I came across a great article on the TTC Otter Loop station on the Transit Toronto website. To be honest I’d never heard of this stop and given it’s circumstance I probably never would have. I can’t remember how I found the article but it was neat and the picture included in the article was really captivating. I’m a big fan of Bahaus architecture and something about this station really “spoke” to me. It’s not just plain, it was designed that way and I like it.

Trying to remember how I found it I went back to the Transit Toronto website. Here’s an article they posted on the shelter:
http://transit.toronto.on.ca/archives/weblog/2006/04/03-save_otter.shtml

From that article I really like this quote:

What’s been virtually forgotten by posterity, though, is that Parkin’s design consultancy to the TTC predated and encompassed more than just the subway. Influenced by Charles Holden’s designs for London Transport between the wars, the Parkin firm provided designs for a number of transit loops and shelters in the 1940s. These were, in effect, an aesthetic dress rehearsal for the Yonge line (and “TTC Modern” in general).

Perhaps it was the rather nice glass of port I was enjoying but I turned on my computer to surf through the various plans I’ve collected over the years with an eye toward building a model of something…anything. Anyway, in a folder of TTC images and stuff I found a picture of Otter Loop and here I am almost finished my drawing. Given that I’m drawing this on a Wednesday night in Charlottetown and the station itself is in Toronto I’m working from photos I can find on the internet. With that in mind I have been making some assumptions as I go.

Brick Sizes
I assume that the bricks are what I’d consider a standard size. Since I had a few photos to work from I figured if I drew one brick in AutoCAD I could base the all the drawings on that single brick’s size by multiplying the brick (thank God for AutoCAD blocks eh?!). I used a brick that is 8″ long by 4″ deep and 2-3/4″ inches deep. My typical mortar line is drawn at 3/8″.

Doors and windows
Based on my standard multiples I was able to guess the overall window sizes. I added in some “best guess” dimensions to the mix to estimate the size of sashes, etc. One of my two biggest assumptions is the width of the door opening in the front of the shelter. I really had nothing to go on but the photos. Putting on my designer’s hat I assumed that the door opening should equal the width of one sash to maintain symmetry along the front elevation.

Roof Overhang
My second greatest assumption involved the roof overhang. Based on my training as a draftsman I started attempting to de-construct the photo as if it were a projection I’d drawn. Based on my earlier assumptions regarding brick size I setttled on a grand 26″ overhang that I’ll be applying uniformly around the building. If you know otherwise, let me know and I’ll correct the drawing. I’m going to narrow that overhang to 24″ on all sides.

Drawings
I’ll post PNG screenshots of what I’ve got done so far as I progress through this set. When I’m done I’ll upload a PDF of the complete set. Likely this finished set will be 1/4″ scale. The screenshots will not be posted “to scale” though they will include some very basic dimensions.

I’ll start with the plan view I created. By the way, I forgot to indicate on the drawing, but the dashed line around the perimeter of the footprint is a projection of the roof overhang.

Otter Loop Shelter - not to scale

Leave a Reply

