The production version explained

Further to the pictures I’ve just posted online I thought I’d work up another sketch using Sketch-Up to help illustrate how I see this idea working and to help with my explanation of what I’ve made.

In essence this is a street trackage adaptation of the theory that Peco applied in the design of their 2mm “finescale” track series. Peco was able to use the taller code 80 and simply buried deeper into the sleepers so the exposed amount appeared to be code 55 rail. My motivation is borne as much from a finescale desire as it is to make better use of what materials I can get here on PEI. N scale is really hard to get but you can usually get code 80 Atlas flex track so my “system” is designed around that. In the drawing about the rail’s base rests in the red area. The flangeway is shaded in blue above. The shallower trough for the rails controls the gauge of the track and was measured using my NMRA standards gauge as my guide.

Since my intent is to cast the sections I’ll need for my layout in resin I figure I’ll just cast a bunch and glue them onto the layout’s surface. Once they’re all in place I’ll just come along with lengths of rail and glue that rail into place as I go. Tonight I made my first test piece of straight track, next I’ll work on getting some representation of paving onto a straight section. Once I’m content with that I’ll cast a test piece. Next up will be a curved section and finally a turnout. I have sketches of how to go about those sections as well so all I need is the time.

I think I’ve got something here. Now to get on with it.

Leave a Reply

