Prince Street by two turnouts

I hope the Futers influence shows here. The more I looked at his plans the more I started to wonder if you could shrink his mastery of three-turnout setups and cut that down to only two. I had some Peco templates based on their N scale large radius turnouts that I drew a while ago and thought I’d try mapping something out “just to see”.

not to scale - originally drawn to suit N scale

I’ve drawn this assuming trains would arrive and depart from a fiddle yard to the right of the plan to platforms one and two. Locally stored would be whatever engine was assigned marshalling duties in the station and it would make it’s way up from it’s siding to move coaches from one train to another.

I wonder what premise could be adopted to make this work for commuter trains? Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

