Shapeways – I’ll try one

I’ve been trolling around my collections of projects and my own personal wishlist looking for something to use as fodder to test what it will take to put together a drawing for Shapeways to print. Here’s a first test shot of what I’m working on right now. I’m working in AutoCAD and wanted to start with a 2d drawing then translate it into a 3d “mesh” that I can send to Shapeways to print.

As I work on this it’s funny to observe some of the things I normally wouldn’t consider in drafting. Most notably designing this model for things like painting. The Shapeways printers can do just about any shape I throw at them so I have to be careful to get something that is finished enough to make it worthwhile to print yet not overly complicated to paint and letter.

Leave a Reply

