The Narrow Gauge Steam Railroad on Prince Edward Island

I was given a signed copy of A. Byron Burns’ The Narrow Gauge Steam Railroad on Prince Edward Island many years ago but I’ll confess that it’s one of those books that I added to my bookshelf and really haven’t picked up too much since then. I don’t really know why I’ve never really read it more often. The author was born early in the twentieth century. His experiences with the PEIR as a narrow gauge railway are firsthand and it is infectious.

Tonight I feel I’ve started making up for all that time when I wasn’t really paying attention to the book. I’ve had a lot of fun reading through this book and re-reading sections to try and link them to other memories the author has shared. I’ve learned a lot tonight and picked up some new details to further complete my understanding of the railway.

Leave a Reply

