Starting day three

I’ve challenged myself to get something done every day this week on a layout. So far, so good.

On Monday the main parts of the frame were cut from plywood and assembled. I ran out of glue so had to pause construction.

Tuesday saw the ledger strips added around the perimeter of the frame. I’ll be using these as ledges to glue the foam deck to. The design here permitting the foam to be recessed into the layout and allows the frame to protect and hide the unfinished foam edge.

This brings us to Wednesday and I have the legs cut to length and the cross-members too. In a few short minutes I’ll get the legs assembled and hopefully. The legs will slide into pockets built into the each modules frames and I should be able to get these done too. My goal for today is to have both modules standing upright on their own legs and the foam glued in place.

If things fall into place as hoped, tomorrow I’ll run a bus wire down both modules and also install the connectors to join the two modules together.

Construction underway, third coffee on the go and things are really coming together.

Construction underway, third coffee on the go and things are really coming together.

It’s a terrific day outside so I won’t work too long. My wife and I have been teaching ourselves to ski and I’m looking forward to heading out to the hill this afternoon. Well, as captioned above, there’s coffee on and wood to be glued together. For music I’m relying on a favourite layout construction go to album, Diana Krall’s Live in Paris.

Leave a Reply

