Lake Verde October 1981

Lake Verde, PEI - October 1981

Lake Verde, PEI – October 1981

The above photo is another from a chase Steve Hunter was so lucky to be a part of following a very rare train on the western end of the Murray Harbour subdivision. Earlier, I posted a photo Steve took at Mount Albion and the above is of the train on it’s return to Lake Verde. The engines are sitting on the mainline. To their left is a short, stub-ended, public siding. The track curving away on the right of the picture is the mainline leading to Mount Stewart and ultimately, to Charlottetown. As with the Mount Albion shot, this photo illustrates so well the inspiration I’m fueling the current layout with.

Lake Verde 1974 - red square outlines Steve Hunter's photo and blue line highlights location of storage track. Note that the track is filled with cars waiting to be ordered for local destinations, like Mount Albion.

Lake Verde 1974 – red square outlines Steve Hunter’s photo and blue line highlights location of storage track. Note that the track is filled with cars waiting to be ordered for local destinations, like Mount Albion.

The above aerial photo should be helpful to orient Steve’s photo. I’ve outlined where his photo was taken in a red box. While I had the aerial open anyway, I added in a blue line to draw attention to a string of refrigerator cars that had been placed here at Lake Verde. They aren’t placed to load but are staged for nearby stations so once they are ordered, they can be moved into position more efficiently.DSC01434I’ve wanted a layout focused on Lake Verde for some time. I really want to develop the siding in the foreground of this photo, relying very heavily on what Steve recorded in his picture (for reference, the RS1 and RS11 in the above photo are on the main, the brown boxcar is on the Lake Verde public siding. The engines have just placed cars on the storage track for later distribution). I spent a lot of time frustrated by not having the room to really model, directly, something like the western end of the Murray Harbour subdivision or any of the other myriad of inspiring prototypes that have caught my attention. It’s not hard to see the many ways that what I’m doing is not at all like the way the prototype was laid out, but, many of those car movements that so fascinate me I can replicate very accurately here. The entire scene doesn’t feel busy in any way and I’ve spent enough time squinting down paper templates to know that in a pile of ways, these scenes remind me of the ones that inspired me in the first place. I didn’t start out intending to model this scene but it’s becoming harder and harder to ignore just how well it works if I did.

2 comments

    1. Thanks

      I’m certainly closer than I’ve felt in a long time. If not the exact one I’m pleased with exactly how well themes fit into a plan that I know I find visually and operationally satisfying.

      This happy intersection of interests is also helping me understand that my prototype interests may not be as individually unique as they sometimes feel.

      These are rewarding discoveries. It feels like I’m headed in the right direction.

      Cheers

      Chris

Leave a Reply

