Meet 3mm scale modellers

It seems like over the course of the past few years there have been a variety articles on websites, posts to blogs, or like media that are designed to introduce us to the people of the craft of model railways. This morning I read this blog post on the 3mm Society blog introducing us to Howard Love:

Biog: Howard Love

http://3mmsociety.blogspot.ca/2015/12/biog-howard-love.html

This particular post is a terrific example, I feel, of the potential of these articles to describe the relationship we have with the work we produce. Reading through it we learn more about the modeller and are exposed to some of “why” he makes what he makes. There’s little doubt that Mr. Love is a true master of his work but also that over time any modeller willing to invest in their craft could achieve that same level of success. It’s inspirational and well worth reading.

4 comments

  1. Hello Chris, thanks for bringing this to my attention. What a great post and so much information and colour. I kind of reminds me of A Modelers Life but for blogs. Having been recently reading on forums the wailing and moaning about the cost of RTR models going into the stratosphere and how were they going to afford that rake of wagons or coaches and how the hobby was going to die because of this. I was then pondering what I would do if the likes of Garfar and Dapol disappear and the simple answer to me was just pick a scratch building scale. Yes there are many people out there that couldn’t or wouldn’t want to do this but the seeing the post like this one even if it got one person to “build” more that would a good thing. For me 3mm and for that matter S Scale are in that sweet spot and although I may never build anything in these scales it doesn’t stop me noodling and imagining. At a Local Area Meeting for 2mmFS couple of weeks ago I got into a conversation about layout size and completionism. I have come to realise that over the last year my ethos has moved to the compact layout this is not necessarily micro etc and I think both 3mm and S Scale would be achievable to construct something in a reasonable time :) Anyway thanks for the food for thought and I am looking forward getting back on the horse and to 2016’s modelling projects.

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed the article.

      I like that the 3mm Association have created the blog in the first place. There’s a certain ease of sharing information that should help bridge between their website and individual member’s websites or blogs that I think should benefit the group.

      I tend to believe that any scale could be defined as a builder’s scale. Obviously the ratio of product (ready-to-run) as compared to what you’ll need to make on your own is higher in some than in others. I worry that we tend to approach the choice of scale from this perspective alone.

      We might swing toward a scale and gauge that are better served by the trade – lots of the right equipment readily available at the local hobby shop. Immediately our imagination swings to the idea of “finally” building that empire in miniature. Since we can keep pouring inventory into that dream the scope continues to grow. Eventually we find ourselves caught in the shift from what we want to what we need and at this point the cry for more reasonably priced stock starts to appear.

      For me, I don’t believe that more models to a lower price point is the answer any more than a layout to a particular size – that the smaller the less expensive. I think (for me) that part of the answer is learning to rationalize that investment and plan for it. As so many (too many?) blog posts here reveal, I too so thoroughly enjoy the planning and design stage. A part of this phase of construction should also include a consideration of how much ____ I’ll need and if I’m comfortable with that investment. It might be the volume of freight cars or the number of turnouts I’ll need to consider the maintenance of. Either way, there’s a comfort level and regardless of what I choose.

      Back to the beginning though. Perhaps a part of that question on our relationship with mass-produced models isn’t choosing a scale for the way it embraces or ignores that but whether or not it has the right things we, individually, need to buy to close the gap between where our skill is at now and what we still need to learn.

      Thanks for the terrific comment. I enjoyed reading it and hope that my ramble above is in line with yours.

      /chris

  2. Thanks for promoting 3mm on your blog. As the Secretary we are the 3mm Society and celebrated our 50th Anniversary this year. The blog which has mentioned has been put together by our publicity officer. Thanks again regards Steve

Leave a Reply

