You could GO home

On a nicer summer afternoon I would ride down from “the mountain” and get off my bus around GO Transit’s former Toronto, Hamilton & Buffalo Hunter Street station. I consider the station itself to be one of the most attractive pieces of railway architecture anywhere and it’s preservation a real tribute to the attitude of “doing it right” in so many ways.

GO trains leaving Hamilton for Toronto exited the station and into a tunnel, under the City, and my walk home would take me over that tunnel’s entrance. Most days I could time a walk to match the departure of an evening train and this evening was no different. These three photos remind me of just such a time.

I remember thinking I should probably get around to “someday” spending more time photographing GO’s F59’s but they just seemed ever-present and as permanent part of the landscape that there was never a rush. Not many years after I took these photos I’d be proven wrong. Come to think of it, I’ve probably taken more photos of these GO diesels in Montreal commuter service than I did when they were on home turf.

DSC09657

RBRX 18524 (former GO Transit) at Dorval, Quebec, in AMT service. November 4, 2010.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

