Day two’s progress

dsc03761

Day two starts with cutting and reassembling the layout to fit into the new space. Both modules needed to be shorter. Not the prettiest solution but I simply cut the ends free and then sistered in a new front and back panel; glued and clamped in the above photo.

dsc03764

Work continued and provided a chance to indulge in another favourite past time: making bits of lumber and plywood into much smaller ones. If only I had all that sawdust back…

DSC00450

Years ago now, when I first built this I created these handy pockets for the layout legs. It worked so well and I was quite proud of having done so. Doing so should make the whole thing so easy to take apart. Unfortunately, soon after celebrating this win, I proceeded to just screw all the other parts together. Being a bit on the frugal (cheap) side, I’ve yet to replace my trusty old drill with one that has reverse so each time I’ve had to back those screws out, I do so by hand. Each turn of the screwdriver has been a reminder of how brilliant the pockets were and the cost of the rest.

dsc03775

This time around, I’m going to make some changes. In this case, I’m using hanger bolts to tie the brace that runs across the backs of the legs to provide some lateral stability. “No more screws” is the slogan here.

dsc03801By the end of day two, the layout is basically together. I still need to fine tune the alignment of most parts and then I want to get into finishing the legs and shelves. In terms of colour treatments I’m leaning heavily toward staining it all and attempting some sort of finish using several different stain colours to weather the frame components and give them some presence.

Hard not to get some trains out just to see how great things are going to look. I liked the way the “L” shape makes the layout feel longer in terms of changing my orientation to face each end. I particularly like that the placement in the room encourages me to site down the length of the layout too, providing views of the train arriving at each end and perspectives that feel like how I’d watch the real thing. (Nice three-quarter classic railfan photo of a vintage steam engine equipped with a long-range tender too).

On to day three and that’s where I’m writing this from.

4 comments

    1. Interesting challenge.

      The larger of the two modules is 10″ x 44″ and the smaller is the same width but 36″ long. I don’t know if I’d mentioned the overall size yet so figured that might help.

      I think, design, or work better when I am doing so with something tactile. I had all of the material on hand so framing up the current arrangement provides such a workspace for consideration. I’m by no means locked into this size but allowing myself to consider it.

      Reaching around that corner involves some considerable real estate so when evaluating any plan for the space must take into account this investment – if I didn’t have to turn the corner would I be just as far ahead sticking to just the single module? It’s that kind of iterative consideration I’m at now.

      What do you think?

      /chris

Leave a Reply

