What else have I been doing wrong?

About a decade ago I tried using Polyblend sanded grout on an On30 layout. Back then I wanted a ballast that looked like sand and dirt. Today, I’m back where I started then. That layout was one of the first layouts I talked about here on Prince Street and the one I’m working on now feels like it’s destined to be the one I’ve been trying to build since then.

As you’ll see I’ve already stuck down a layer of ballast so what I’m doing is building over that form. When I’ve used this grout product before the single frustration I’d experienced with it was it’s so darn dusty that it made an irremovable mess on the adjacent ties (because I’d just dumped a truckload on the track). This time I thought I’d try using a paint brush as the applicator, like you’d do with weathering powders and this works. As you’ll see I’m (again!) using that same old paint brush I use everywhere else. This is something I did different, this time, I should have tried before.

Yup. This is going to be awesome.



Categories: Coy Paper (HO) model railway

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment