One. For sale.

It’s been an amazing day, exactly what I wanted it to feel like. To be away from the computer and feel the magazine. Curled up on the couch with tea, the cat, and these pages feels really wonderful. I’m so glad this happened. As I shared updates on the magazine, people asked about how to get copies of it. Here’s how:

About the magazine

One is the magazine of Prince Street. Forty letter-size pages printed in colour on 80# paper that does have a nice feel to it. The matte finish on those pages should be a nice place to draw on, and you should. It’s “perfect bound”.

There are only 20 copies. I don’t currently plan to rerun content from the first issue or print additional copies.

The models and sketches, words and photographs, are all mine. I have never done anything like this before and I wanted to feel as much of the process as possible. One wasn’t just about something I wanted to have but something I wanted to make.

There is no advertising.

“Minor grammatical errors”

I’ll confess, One was mostly fabricated in the very late hours of the night. I knew there would be some “minor grammatical errors” and I have found one missing word and about six instances of word that would be spelled correctly if they ddidn’t have an extra letter added to them. This is my confession, it matters to me you know these details are in the pages. I’m not making excuses. I expected some minor errors. In a way, I wanted to welcome them. This is also not an excuse but a confession of intent: I believe that we leave a piece of our self in everything we make. I believe that among life’s greatest challenges is the courage to see our “imperfections” as a part of who we are and see that as what makes us whole and not less than that. I wanted to complete this issue while it still felt vulnerable and raw. In some ways, you’ll already know where to look for my mistakes because you have seen my style here where you’re reading this. They are, my fingerprints.

If you still want to buy a copy here’s how:

The price of a copy of One magazine is coupled to your address:

  • Mailed to an address in Canada the cost is $30.
  • Mailed to a United States or International address the cost is $35.
  • Now that I see one packed and weighed the shipping is really the big factor in cost.

Those prices include shipping. Shipping will be by Canada Post lettermail. I’m happy to ship by other means and we can discuss that if you’d like.

Prices are in Canadian dollars. I can only accept payments by PayPal or eTransfer. (When we talk, I don’t mind sending an invoice to your email address if that’s easier)

Send me an email to request your copy or with any questions. Include “One Magazine” in your email subject line. I don’t save email addresses and this streamlined contact felt so much easier than working with a third-party for something as simple as this.

Questions?

Feel free to ask questions down in the comments. It might help someone else with a question like yours to see what we’ve talked through already.

Feel free to use the email link above too, in case it helps, with any comments or questions. I’m always happy to hear from you.

Thank you

-Chris



Categories: One March 2024

7 replies

  1. Do not leg the grammarians worry you. What do you think the Welsh do? They add extra letters all over the place. Very happy for you and I know the feeling you’re having. It never gets old.

    Eric

  2. Good morning

    Just a little over twenty-four hours later and the first issue of One has sold out. This magazine is the realisation of a dream and I am so grateful to have had a chance to produce it. That, would have been enough. Coupled with the support of everyone who requested a copy leaves me speechless and all that much more thankful.

    Thank you

    Chris

  3. Hi,

    I would like to order one sample for me in france. Send me an invoice trough paypal.

    Regards

    • Good morning. Thank you. The first issue of One has now sold out. Work on the next two issues is already underway and I’ll update here on the blog as they progress. I also have a menu item and category for the magazine that collects items specifically about the magazine.

      Wonderful to hear from you. Thanks again for the interest. I appreciate it.

      Chris

  4. Hi Chris, having enjoyed James’s two books i would love to read your insights in the new magazine, am in Ontario. Anyway to ‘subscribe’ to the magazine? cheers, Duncan

    • Good afternoon Duncan.

      Updates on the magazine will always land here on the blog first and that’s probably the easiest way to know when the next one is coming. One remains very loose in design and scheduling so that’s probably going to be the best way forward.

      I’m working on the follow-up issue now. There are some ideas collecting around some new themes and I’d like to see the next one in production during the summar and certainly before October.

      Thanks for the compliment. I’m thrilled you enjoyed James’ books. They, alongside Eric Gagnon’s and Mike Cougill’s, are important books in my library too.

      –Chris

Leave a comment