6 replies

  1. That is a gorgeous sketch. I wish I had half as much sketching talent as James does (I have almost none!). I have a couple of ideas peculating for shelf dioramas, and thought about trying to sketch them in perspective, mine would not be that nice!

    Stephen

    • I’d love to hear more about those ideas. You should definitely sketch them out. Everyone has a different style and the act of drawing them out serves several purposes. I’m a big believer in the “if you can draw it you can build it” and find there’s a narrative that develops during the act of moving pencil around paper. So, about these dioramas: what were you thinking about working on?

      Chris

  2. Awesome! Now you just have to make it. ;-)

    • It’s at this point it would be handy to have a sketch that has a lot more exposed pink foam because then I could just compare the two and consider it a goal achieved. Ever since I first drew the original sketches for Coy I’ve been able to “see” it vividly but none of those drawings ever looked like this so this is really the first time I’ve ever seen the finished layout in three dimensional form.

      “only have to build it”

      Chris

Trackbacks

  1. I Blame Mears for this… | Musings on my Model Railroading Addiction

Leave a comment