GM Oshawa – July 2001

These photos are marked as July 2001 but they may well have been taken a little earlier or later. Regardless they are “summer 2001” shots and I think I can live with that. From talking with my railfan friends in Hamilton I had heard alot about the maze of trackwork both CP and CN had inside the GM plant in Oshawa, Ontario. My road map certainly seemed to imply there were at least a couple of public roads into the plant so armed with a borrowed Pontiac Sunbird (heck, when in Rome) I made my first trip in and I sure am glad I did.

The big prize of the day was this mother-slug pairing. The slug was rebuilt from some sort of GM switcher and it was paired with one of CP’s chop-nosed GP’s. While I gravitated more toward this pair of switchers, the yard was full of CP SD40-2’s and even a lone van.


There was some CN in there too, but with so much great Action Red I just couldn’t tear myself away. As for the plant itself it was huge. I’d never been inside anything like that before. I can’t even begin to imagine what Detroit’s must have felt like.



Categories: CP Rail

Tags: , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Interesting photos, Chris. Always counted myself lucky if driving the 401 at the ‘Shwa brought me under a slug/switcher set working north of GM. Kind of miss the plethora of 86-foot hicubes in the CN yard from a variety of US roads.

    Coincidentally, I’m working on a couple of present-day shots for Trackside Treasure: Oshawa and Brockville.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Eric

Leave a comment